www.prevent-ip.org

Since February 2004, FORGIS – together with the Saarland College of Technology and Commerce and other well-known European firms, institutes and companies – has been a partner in the EU research project PReVENT within the 6th Framework Programme of European Union. The principal objective of PReVENT is to achieve a 50% reduction in all accidents on the roads in Europe by the year 2010.

In the WILLWARN (Wireless Local Danger Warning) project, which is one component of this large-scale EU project, a communications-based system is being developed that uses intelligent warning management to protect the driver from dangerous and unforeseeable traffic situations. The objective of the project is the development of solutions for on-board recognition of danger, in-car warning management and the decentralised distribution of warnings from vehicle to vehicle by means of car-to-car communication on the street. Warning signals are to be used to make it possible for the driver to reduce his/her speed in good time, to adapt the distance to other vehicles or to drive around slippery passages along the roadway.

Thanks to its inter-disciplinary collaboration with the HTW, FORGIS is able to deal with a wide spectrum of topics. One the one hand, the Institute draws on its experiences in the field of vehicle technology and the dynamics of driving in order to develop, on the basis of information received from sensors, algorithms suited to the recognition of dangers. On the other hand, together with EuroTec Solutions under the Directorship of Prof. Dr. Horst Wieker, FORGIS is also concerned with making possible highly mobile, ad hoc communication between vehicles. The evaluation and development of suitable strategies for the dissemination of warning signals are just one example of this.

Within the framework of this project, FORGIS is also responsible for the construction of multiple demonstration models as well as for the system test. To this end, one of the experimental models is being fitted with the WILLWARN system at the Institute for Vehicle Technology and Environmental Technology. Final test drives add to the validation of the overall system. Further projects are also being planned.

You can read more on this topic here

Contact partner

Joachim Boes
Telefon +49 (0)681 92 747 251
E-Mail

Neues
Profil
Team
Fakten
Leistung
Kunden
Archiv
Kontakt

www.prevent-ip.org

Seit Februar 2004 ist FORGIS zusammen mit der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft und anderen namhaften europäischen Firmen, Instituten und Unternehmen Partner im EU-Forschungsprojekt PReVENT im 6. Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union. Hauptziel von PReVENT ist die Reduktion aller Unfälle auf europäischen Straßen um 50% bis zum Jahr 2010.

Im Projekt WILLWARN (Wireless Local Danger Warning), das Bestandteil des großangelegten EU-Projektes ist, wird ein kommunikationsgestütztes System entwickelt, das den Fahrer durch ein intelligentes Warnmanagement vor gefährlichen, unvorhersehbaren Verkehrssituationen bewahren soll. Die Entwicklung von Lösungen zur On-Board-Gefahrenerkennung, zum In-Car-Warnmanagement und zur dezentralen Verteilung von Warnungen von Fahrzeug zu Fahrzeug durch Car-to-Car-Kommunikation auf der Straße sind Ziele des Projektes. Warnmeldungen sollen dem Fahrer ermöglichen, die Geschwindigkeit rechtzeitig zu reduzieren, den Abstand zu vorausfahrenden Fahrzeugen anzupassen oder glatte Fahrbahnpassagen zu umfahren.

Durch die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit der HTW bearbeitet FORGIS ein breites Spektrum. Zum einen nutzt das Institut seine Erfahrungen auf dem Gebiet der Fahrzeugtechnik und Fahrdynamik, um, basierend auf Sensorinformationen, geeignete Algorithmen zur Gefahrenerkennung zu entwickeln. Zum andern beschäftigt sich FORGIS, zusammen mit EuroTec Solutions unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Horst Wieker, mit der hoch mobilen Ad-Hoc Kommunikation zwischen den Fahrzeugen. Die Auswertung und Entwicklung geeigneter Ausbreitungsstrategien für Warnmeldungen sind hierfür nur ein Beispiel.

FORGIS trägt in diesem Projekt auch die Verantwortung für den Aufbau mehrerer Demonstratoren sowie für den Systemtest. In diesem Zusammenhang wird einer der Versuchsträger am Institut für Fahrzeug- und Umwelttechnik mit dem WILLWARN System ausgerüstet. Abschließende Testfahrten tragen zur Validierung des Gesamtsystems bei. Weitere Projekte sind in Planung.

Mehr dazu lesen Sie hier

Ansprechpartner

Joachim Boes
Telefon +49 (0)681 92 747 251
E-Mail